A deeper way to approach New Year’s Resolutions

by Nicole Smith on December 26, 2013

Ahhhhhh….New Year’s resolution time…..

I actually love the New Year. For obvious reasons it an amazing time to set your New Year’s resolutions, but it’s also a perfect time to reset your life intentions as well. I’m talking about reassessing your personal and spiritual conduct (aka morals), and choosing to act, behave, and think according to how you want to not only be seen in the world, but also how you want to BE in this world.

It’s a great time to review treasured teachings of how to behave and live so that you are not only a good person, but so that you will be happier and you will be magnet for positive things, people, and events throughout the year. If you have your own religious believes that you abide to that’s great, but I think it’s also wonderful learning other peoples teachings and being inspired by them as well.

Below are the Jewish/Christian 10 Commandments, the Buddhist 10 Paramis, Patanjali’s Yamas & Niyamas from Eight-Limbed Yoga, and the Golden Rule.

Hopefully, they will help inspire you to add some moral resolutions to the mix this year, I know they have for me….



1) I am the Lord thy god, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.

2) Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.

3) Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.

4) Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy.

5) Honor thy father and thy mother.

6) Thou shalt not murder.

7) Thou shalt not commit adultery.

8) Thou shalt not steal.

9) Thou shalt not bear false witness against they neighbor.

10) Thou shalt not covet anything that belongs to thy neighbor.


BUDDHIST 10 PARAMIS (The 10 Perfections) *Meditations by Melissa McKay & Melanie Chevarie.

1. Dana (Generosity).  May I be generous and helpful.

2. Sila (Morality).  May I be well-disciplined and refined in manners. May I be pure and clean in all my dealings. May my thoughts, words, and deeds be pure.

3. Nekkhamma (Renunciation). May I not be selfish and self-possessive but selfless and disinterested. May I be able to sacrifice my pleasure for the sake of others.

4. Panna (Wisdom). May I be wise and be able to see things as they truly are. May I see the light of Truth and lead others from darkness to light. May I be enlightened and be able to enlighten others. May I be able to give the benefit of my knowledge to others.

5. Viriya (Energy). May I be energetic, vigorous and persevering. May I strive diligently until I achieve my goal. May I be fearless in facing dangers and courageously surmount all obstacles. May I be able to serve others to the best of my ability.

6. Khanti (Patience). May I be ever patient. May I be able to bear and forbear the wrongs of others. May I ever be tolerant and see the good and beautiful in all.

7. Sacca (Truthfulness). May I ever be truthful and honest. May I not hide the truth to be polite. May I never swerve from the path of Truth.

8. Adhitthana (Determination). May I be firm and resolute and have an iron will. May I be soft as a flower and firm as a rock. May I ever be high-principled.

9. Metta (Loving-Kindness). May I ever be kind, friendly, and compassionate. May I be able to regard all as my brothers and sisters and be one with all.

10. Upekkha (Equanimity). May I ever be calm, serene, unruffled and peaceful. May I gain a balanced mind. May I have perfect equanimity.


PATANJALI’S YAMAS & NIYAMAS  from the Eight-Limbed Yoga Sutras.

The Five Yamas:

  1. Ahimsa (non-harming). Ahimsa, or non-injury, implies non-killing. However, it also means abstaining from causing any pain or harm whatsoever to any living creature, either by thought, word, or deed.
  2. Satya (truthfulness). Satya is more than just telling the truth, it is making sure ones actions be in accordance with one’s words and thoughts.
  3. Brahmacharya (control of the senses). Brahmacharya is restraining from indulging in harmful sensual gratification.
  4. Asteya (Non-stealing). Asteya means to not ever take something that is not of one’s own without permission.
  5. Aparigraha (Non-covetousness). Aparigraha means to not be jealous of others and to be happy and grateful for what you do have.

The Five Niyamas:

  1. Saucha (Purity). Saucha means to be clean in with our bodies, surrounding, and  minds.
  2. Santosha (Contentment). Santosha is the ability to recognize that although it is important to try to better our environment and life situation through proper effort, it is also important to become content with the fact that the world is never going to be necessarily perfect to our liking.
  3. Tapas (Austerity). Tapas are practices that help the mind become stronger, such as meditation and fasting.
  4. Swadhyaya (Study of Self). Swadhyaya is the practice of spiritual study that will help enlighten our minds and connect our hearts to the universe.
  5. Ishwarapranidhana (Belief in a higher power). Ishwarapranidhana is the surrender to God’s will and devotion.


 And last but not least, from all the religions:


Do unto others, as you’d have done unto you.


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: